Ploughshares has published quality literature since 1971. Our award-winning literary journal is published four times a year; our lively literary blog publishes new writing daily. Since 1989, we have been based at Emerson College in downtown Boston.


1971: Ploughshares is founded by DeWitt Henry and Peter O’Malley.

1978: Ploughshares receives a major National Endowment for the Arts grant.

1989: Ploughshares becomes affiliated with Emerson College, remaining editorially independent.

1990: The first Ploughshares International Fiction Writing Seminar takes place at Emerson’s Kasteel Well in The Netherlands.

1994: Don Lee is appointed Editor of Ploughshares.

2001: Ploughshares celebrates its 30th anniversary.

2004: The Ploughshares Blog launches.

2008: Ladette Randolph becomes Editor-in-Chief/Executive Director of Ploughshares.

2009: Ploughshares fully merges with Emerson College.

2011: Ploughshares celebrates its 40th anniversary, releasing a digital edition of the literary journal and a new logo.

2012: Ploughshares launches the Ploughshares Solos series of digital-first long stories and essays.

2013: The first Ploughshares Solos Omnibus is published and all back issues are made available in digital formats.

2014: Ploughshares launches a newly designed blog and website.

2016: Ploughshares celebrates its 45th anniversary with a specialty issue guest-edited by Claire Messud and James Wood.

2018: Ploughshares launches the Fall Longform issue as a venue for longer stories and essays.

2021: Ploughshares celebrates its 50th anniversary and hosts a virtual gala with featured guest editors and writers in conversation. Proceeds went to the Ploughshares Anniversary Fund.

2023: Ploughshares meets its fundraising goal for the Ploughshares Anniversary Fund, ensuring its commitment to pay writers for their excellence in the literary arts.