Ashley Leigh Bourne Prize for Fiction

The annual Ashley Leigh Bourne Prize for Fiction honors a short story published in Ploughshares in the previous year (the Summer issue of the previous calendar year through the Spring issue of the current calendar year). The prize is sponsored by longtime patron Hunter C. Bourne III. The winner is selected by our editors and receives a cash prize of $2,500. The announcement of the award, along with a short profile of the author, is printed in each year’s Summer issue. This award is not open for the submission of manuscripts.


2023: E. K. Ota, “The Paper Artist” / Fall 2022

2022: Christie Hodgen, “Bush v. Gore” / Fall 2021

2021: Vincent Yu, “You Just Make Me So Happy” / Fall 2020

2020: Kiley Reid, “George Washington’s Teeth” / Fall 2019

2019: Belle Boggs, “In the Shadow of Man” / Summer 2018