Diane Ackerman

Diane Ackerman is the author of over two dozen works of nonfiction and poetry, including The Zookeeper’s Wife (W. W. Norton, 2007), A Natural History of the Senses (Random House, 1990), The Human Age (W. W. Norton, 2014), I Praise My Destroyer (poems; Random House, 1998), and Jaguar of Sweet Laughter (poems; Random House, 1991). Ms. Ackerman has received the Stephen Hawking Medal for Science Communication, PEN Henry David Thoreau Prize for Nature Writing, Orion Book Award, John Burroughs Medal for Nature Writing, among others. She has a molecule named after her, “dianeackerone,” a crocodilian pheromone.

Articles by This Author